Nick was born and raised in Montana, growing up in the Bitterroot Valley.  He obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree, with honors, in Political Science and International Relations from Carroll College before going on to obtain his Juris Doctorate degree from Gonzaga Law School in Spokane, Washington ("let's go Zags!"). 


During law school, Nick served as the Gonzaga Law Review's Managing Editor and received a CALI Excellence for the Future Award for Legal Research and Writing as well as being awarded "Best Brief" during the school's Linden Cup advocacy competition.  

In addition to his legal studies, Nick worked for a private law firm in Spokane practicing criminal defense and personal injury law, clerked for the Washington Court of Appeals, and volunteered as a Special Deputy Prosecutor for the Spokane County Attorney's Office.  

Following law school, Nick returned to his home state and joined the firm of Skjelset & Geer in Missoula practicing primarily plaintiff's civil litigation and criminal defense.

Before forming Trailhead Law, Nick served as a Deputy County Attorney for Yellowstone County and as Chair of the Yellowstone County DUI Task Force.  


He is currently licensed to practice in all Municipal, State and Federal Courts in Montana. 

J.D., Gonzaga University School of Law
B.A., Carroll College



The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. Transmission of information via this website is not intended to create, and does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship with Trailhead Law, PLLC. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as you have executed a formal Attorney-Client Agreement with Trailhead Law, PLLC.  Trailhead Law, PLLC expressly disclaims all liability with respect to actions taken or not taken based on any or all of the contents of this website. This website contains marketing materials to promote Trailhead Law.  Each case and client is unique, past results are not a guarantee of future results.